Share this story...
Latest News
MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#40
Willson Contreras
AVG HR RBI
.249 7 34
Team: Chi CubsHt / Wt: 6-1 / 212 NFBC ADP: 88.84
Position: CBorn: 5/13/1992 Birthplace: Puerto Cabello, Venezuela
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: Undrafted by Cubs (2009)


Latest News
June 25 2:48 PM PT3:48 PM MT4:48 PM CT5:48 PM ET17:48 ET21:48 GMT5:48 2:48 PM MST4:48 PM EST5:18 PM VEN1:48 UAE (+1)4:48 PM CT-Willson Contreras went 0 for 1 Sunday as the Chicago Cubs fell to the Miami Marlins 4-2. Contreras scored once and stole a base. He ended the game with a .248 batting average.
June 24 4:47 PM PT5:47 PM MT6:47 PM CT7:47 PM ET19:47 ET23:47 GMT7:47 4:47 PM MST6:47 PM EST7:17 PM VEN3:47 UAE (+1)6:47 PM CT-Willson Contreras went 1 for 4 Saturday as the Chicago Cubs beat the Miami Marlins 5-3. He ended the game with a .249 batting average.
June 23 9:14 PM PT10:14 PM MT11:14 PM CT12:14 AM ET0:14 ET4:14 GMT12:14 9:14 PM MST11:14 PM EST11:44 PM VEN8:14 UAE11:14 PM CT-Willson Contreras went 1 for 5 with a home run and two RBIs Thursday as the Chicago Cubs beat the Miami Marlins 11-1. The homer was his seventh of the season. He ended the game with a .249 batting average.
June 21 2:51 PM PT3:51 PM MT4:51 PM CT5:51 PM ET17:51 ET21:51 GMT5:51 2:51 PM MST4:51 PM EST5:21 PM VEN1:51 UAE (+1)4:51 PM CT-Willson Contreras went 0 for 3 Wednesday as the Chicago Cubs fell to the San Diego Padres 3-2. He ended the game with a .250 batting average.
June 20 8:56 PM PT9:56 PM MT10:56 PM CT11:56 PM ET23:56 ET3:56 GMT11:56 8:56 PM MST10:56 PM EST11:26 PM VEN7:56 UAE (+1)10:56 PM CT-Willson Contreras went 1 for 4 Tuesday as the Chicago Cubs beat the San Diego Padres 4-0. He ended the game with a .254 batting average.
June 20 9:11 PM PT10:11 PM MT11:11 PM CT12:11 AM ET0:11 ET4:11 GMT12:11 9:11 PM MST11:11 PM EST11:41 PM VEN8:11 UAE11:11 PM CT-Willson Contreras went 1 for 4 with a home run and an RBI Monday as the Chicago Cubs topped the San Diego Padres 3-2. The homer was his sixth of the season. He ended the game with a .254 batting average.
Analysis: Contreras is trending in the right direction, going 6 for 13 with a home run, four doubles and seven RBIs over his last four games.
June 18 4:43 PM PT5:43 PM MT6:43 PM CT7:43 PM ET19:43 ET23:43 GMT7:43 4:43 PM MST6:43 PM EST7:13 PM VEN3:43 UAE (+1)6:43 PM CT-Willson Contreras went 3 for 5 with two doubles and three RBIs Sunday as the Chicago Cubs beat the Pittsburgh Pirates 7-1. He ended the game with a .254 batting average.
Analysis: The young catcher had an excellent series, finishing 5 for 9 with four doubles and six RBIs. Contreras entered the set hitting .216 (11 for 51) with just three RBIs over his previous 19 games, so perhaps he's finally back on track.
June 16 8:33 PM PT9:33 PM MT10:33 PM CT11:33 PM ET23:33 ET3:33 GMT11:33 8:33 PM MST10:33 PM EST11:03 PM VEN7:33 UAE (+1)10:33 PM CT-Contreras went 2 for 3 with two doubles and three RBIs Friday as the Chicago Cubs topped the Pittsburgh Pirates 9-5. Contreras scored once. He ended the game with a .246 batting average.
Analysis: He had three RBIs over his previous 20 games.
June 15 10:11 AM PT11:11 AM MT12:11 PM CT1:11 PM ET13:11 ET17:11 GMT1:11 10:11 AM MST12:11 PM EST12:41 PM VEN21:11 UAE12:11 PM CT-Willson Contreras went 0 for 1 Wednesday as the Chicago Cubs fell to the New York Mets 9-4. He ended the game with a .239 batting average.
June 14 8:25 AM PT9:25 AM MT10:25 AM CT11:25 AM ET11:25 ET15:25 GMT23:25 8:25 AM MST10:25 AM EST10:55 AM VEN19:25 UAE10:25 AM CT-Willson Contreras went 1 for 4 Tuesday as the Chicago Cubs topped the New York Mets 14-3. Contreras scored twice and stole a base. He ended the game with a .240 batting average.
June 12 6:55 PM PT7:55 PM MT8:55 PM CT9:55 PM ET21:55 ET1:55 GMT9:55 6:55 PM MST8:55 PM EST9:25 PM VEN5:55 UAE (+1)8:55 PM CT-Willson Contreras went 0 for 4 Monday as the Chicago Cubs fell to the New York Mets 6-1. He ended the game with a .240 batting average.
June 10 2:43 PM PT3:43 PM MT4:43 PM CT5:43 PM ET17:43 ET21:43 GMT5:43 2:43 PM MST4:43 PM EST5:13 PM VEN1:43 UAE (+1)4:43 PM CT-Willson Contreras went 1 for 4 with an RBI Saturday as the Chicago Cubs fell to the Colorado Rockies 9-1. He ended the game with a .246 batting average.
June 9 3:17 PM PT4:17 PM MT5:17 PM CT6:17 PM ET18:17 ET22:17 GMT6:17 3:17 PM MST5:17 PM EST5:47 PM VEN2:17 UAE (+1)5:17 PM CT-Willson Contreras went 0 for 2 Friday as the Chicago Cubs fell to the Colorado Rockies 5-3. He ended the game with a .245 batting average.
June 9 9:00 PM PT10:00 PM MT11:00 PM CT12:00 AM ET0:00 ET4:00 GMT12:00 9:00 PM MST11:00 PM EST11:30 PM VEN8:00 UAE11:00 PM CT-Willson Contreras went 1 for 4 Thursday as the Chicago Cubs fell to the Colorado Rockies 4-1. He ended the game with a .248 batting average.
June 8 8:59 AM PT9:59 AM MT10:59 AM CT11:59 AM ET11:59 ET15:59 GMT23:59 8:59 AM MST10:59 AM EST11:29 AM VEN19:59 UAE10:59 AM CT-Willson Contreras went 0 for 2 Wednesday as the Chicago Cubs fell to the Miami Marlins 6-5. He ended the game with a .248 batting average.
June 7 9:22 AM PT10:22 AM MT11:22 AM CT12:22 PM ET12:22 ET16:22 GMT0:22 9:22 AM MST11:22 AM EST11:52 AM VEN20:22 UAE11:22 AM CT-Willson Contreras went 1 for 5 Tuesday as the Chicago Cubs beat the Miami Marlins 10-2. Contreras scored once. He ended the game with a .252 batting average.
June 6 9:08 PM PT10:08 PM MT11:08 PM CT12:08 AM ET0:08 ET4:08 GMT12:08 9:08 PM MST11:08 PM EST11:38 PM VEN8:08 UAE11:08 PM CT-Willson Contreras went 2 for 3 Monday as the Chicago Cubs beat the Miami Marlins 3-1. He ended the game with a .253 batting average.
June 5 9:27 AM PT10:27 AM MT11:27 AM CT12:27 PM ET12:27 ET16:27 GMT0:27 9:27 AM MST11:27 AM EST11:57 AM VEN20:27 UAE11:27 AM CT-Willson Contreras went 0 for 2 Sunday as the Chicago Cubs topped the St. Louis Cardinals 7-6. He ended the game with a .245 batting average.
June 3 2:50 PM PT3:50 PM MT4:50 PM CT5:50 PM ET17:50 ET21:50 GMT5:50 2:50 PM MST4:50 PM EST5:20 PM VEN1:50 UAE (+1)4:50 PM CT-Willson Contreras went 1 for 3 Saturday as the Chicago Cubs beat the St. Louis Cardinals 5-3. Contreras scored once. He ended the game with a .248 batting average.
June 2 2:35 PM PT3:35 PM MT4:35 PM CT5:35 PM ET17:35 ET21:35 GMT5:35 2:35 PM MST4:35 PM EST5:05 PM VEN1:35 UAE (+1)4:35 PM CT-Willson Contreras went 0 for 1 Friday as the Chicago Cubs topped the St. Louis Cardinals 3-2. He ended the game with a .246 batting average.
May 31 4:01 PM PT5:01 PM MT6:01 PM CT7:01 PM ET19:01 ET23:01 GMT7:01 4:01 PM MST6:01 PM EST6:31 PM VEN3:01 UAE (+1)6:01 PM CT-Willson Contreras went 1 for 1 with a double Wednesday as the Chicago Cubs lost to the San Diego Padres 2-1. He ended the game with a .248 batting average.
May 31 10:18 AM PT11:18 AM MT12:18 PM CT1:18 PM ET13:18 ET17:18 GMT1:18 10:18 AM MST12:18 PM EST12:48 PM VEN21:18 UAE12:18 PM CT-Willson Contreras went 1 for 3 with a double and an RBI Tuesday as the Chicago Cubs fell to the San Diego Padres 6-2. He ended the game with a .243 batting average.
Analysis: Among catchers, Contreras' 24 RBIs are fifth-best in the majors.
May 28 6:18 PM PT7:18 PM MT8:18 PM CT9:18 PM ET21:18 ET1:18 GMT9:18 6:18 PM MST8:18 PM EST8:48 PM VEN5:18 UAE (+1)8:18 PM CT-Willson Contreras went 2 for 5 with a home run and an RBI Sunday as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 9-4. The homer was his fifth of the season. He ended the game with a .241 batting average.
Analysis: Contreras ended a 10-game stretch without a homer, and has knocked in 10 runs in his last 12 games.
May 27 8:33 AM PT9:33 AM MT10:33 AM CT11:33 AM ET11:33 ET15:33 GMT23:33 8:33 AM MST10:33 AM EST11:03 AM VEN19:33 UAE10:33 AM CT-Willson Contreras went 0 for 3 Friday as the Chicago Cubs fell to the Los Angeles Dodgers 4-0. He ended the game with a .235 batting average.
May 25 9:07 AM PT10:07 AM MT11:07 AM CT12:07 PM ET12:07 ET16:07 GMT0:07 9:07 AM MST11:07 AM EST11:37 AM VEN20:07 UAE11:07 AM CT-Willson Contreras went 0 for 1 Wednesday as the Chicago Cubs topped the San Francisco Giants 5-4. He ended the game with a .240 batting average.
May 23 7:12 AM PT8:12 AM MT9:12 AM CT10:12 AM ET10:12 ET14:12 GMT22:12 7:12 AM MST9:12 AM EST9:42 AM VEN18:12 UAE9:12 AM CT-Willson Contreras went 1 for 4 Monday as the Chicago Cubs fell to the San Francisco Giants 6-4. He ended the game with a .248 batting average.
May 21 6:50 PM PT7:50 PM MT8:50 PM CT9:50 PM ET21:50 ET1:50 GMT9:50 6:50 PM MST8:50 PM EST9:20 PM VEN5:50 UAE (+1)8:50 PM CT-Willson Contreras went 3 for 3 with a double and three RBIs Sunday as the Chicago Cubs beat the Milwaukee Brewers 13-6. Contreras scored twice. He ended the game with a .248 batting average.
Analysis: In his last seven games, Contreras is batting .375 with two homers, two doubles and nine RBIs.
May 19 5:35 PM PT6:35 PM MT7:35 PM CT8:35 PM ET20:35 ET0:35 GMT8:35 5:35 PM MST7:35 PM EST8:05 PM VEN4:35 UAE (+1)7:35 PM CT-Willson Contreras went 1 for 4 with two RBIs Friday as the Chicago Cubs fell to the Milwaukee Brewers 6-3. He ended the game with a .229 batting average.
Analysis: Contreras has six RBIs in his last six games.
May 18 3:22 PM PT4:22 PM MT5:22 PM CT6:22 PM ET18:22 ET22:22 GMT6:22 3:22 PM MST5:22 PM EST5:52 PM VEN2:22 UAE (+1)5:22 PM CT-Willson Contreras went 0 for 4 Thursday as the Chicago Cubs topped the Cincinnati Reds 9-5. Contreras scored once. He ended the game with a .228 batting average.
May 17 8:52 AM PT9:52 AM MT10:52 AM CT11:52 AM ET11:52 ET15:52 GMT23:52 8:52 AM MST10:52 AM EST11:22 AM VEN19:52 UAE10:52 AM CT-Willson Contreras went 2 for 4 with a double and two RBIs Tuesday as the Chicago Cubs beat the Cincinnati Reds 9-5. He ended the game with a .236 batting average.
May 14 2:02 PM PT3:02 PM MT4:02 PM CT5:02 PM ET17:02 ET21:02 GMT5:02 2:02 PM MST4:02 PM EST4:32 PM VEN1:02 UAE (+1)4:02 PM CT-Willson Contreras went 0 for 1 Sunday as the Chicago Cubs fell to the St. Louis Cardinals 5-0. He ended the game with a .226 batting average.
May 13 6:40 PM PT7:40 PM MT8:40 PM CT9:40 PM ET21:40 ET1:40 GMT9:40 6:40 PM MST8:40 PM EST9:10 PM VEN5:40 UAE (+1)8:40 PM CT-Willson Contreras went 1 for 4 Saturday as the Chicago Cubs lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 5-3. He ended the game with a .229 batting average.
May 12 8:35 PM PT9:35 PM MT10:35 PM CT11:35 PM ET23:35 ET3:35 GMT11:35 8:35 PM MST10:35 PM EST11:05 PM VEN7:35 UAE (+1)10:35 PM CT-Willson Contreras went 2 for 4 with two home runs and two RBIs Friday as the Chicago Cubs beat the St. Louis Cardinals 3-2. The homers were his third and fourth of the season. He ended the game with a .228 batting average.
Analysis: It's the first career multihomer game for the young catcher, who last went deep on April 22 and was batting just .152 (7 for 46) over his past 15 games. Contreras seems to enjoy hitting at Busch Stadium, where he's 5 for 14 with three homers and five RBIs in four career visits.
May 10 5:03 PM PT6:03 PM MT7:03 PM CT8:03 PM ET20:03 ET0:03 GMT8:03 5:03 PM MST7:03 PM EST7:33 PM VEN4:03 UAE (+1)7:03 PM CT-Willson Contreras went 0 for 1 Wednesday as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Colorado Rockies 3-0. He ended the game with a .216 batting average.
May 10 12:32 PM PT1:32 PM MT2:32 PM CT3:32 PM ET15:32 ET19:32 GMT3:32 12:32 PM MST2:32 PM EST3:02 PM VEN23:32 UAE2:32 PM CT-Willson Contreras went 1 for 3 Tuesday as the Chicago Cubs beat the Colorado Rockies 8-1. Contreras scored once. He ended the game with a .219 batting average.
May 9 2:33 PM PT3:33 PM MT4:33 PM CT5:33 PM ET17:33 ET21:33 GMT5:33 2:33 PM MST4:33 PM EST5:03 PM VEN1:33 UAE (+1)4:33 PM CT-Willson Contreras went 1 for 2 with a double and an RBI Tuesday as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Colorado Rockies 10-4 in the first game of a doubleheader. He ended the game with a .215 batting average.
Analysis: Contreras came in just 5 for 40 over his previous 12 games.
May 8 9:01 AM PT10:01 AM MT11:01 AM CT12:01 PM ET12:01 ET16:01 GMT0:01 9:01 AM MST11:01 AM EST11:31 AM VEN20:01 UAE11:01 AM CT-Willson Contreras went 1 for 8 Sunday as the Chicago Cubs lost to the New York Yankees 5-4. He ended the game with a .209 batting average.
May 6 8:33 PM PT9:33 PM MT10:33 PM CT11:33 PM ET23:33 ET3:33 GMT11:33 8:33 PM MST10:33 PM EST11:03 PM VEN7:33 UAE (+1)10:33 PM CT-Willson Contreras went 0 for 3 Saturday as the Chicago Cubs fell to the New York Yankees 11-6. He ended the game with a .217 batting average.
Analysis: Contreras fell to 4 for 32 with eight strikeouts over his last 11 games.
May 5 3:34 PM PT4:34 PM MT5:34 PM CT6:34 PM ET18:34 ET22:34 GMT6:34 3:34 PM MST5:34 PM EST6:04 PM VEN2:34 UAE (+1)5:34 PM CT-Willson Contreras went 0 for 4 Friday as the Chicago Cubs lost to the New York Yankees 3-2. He ended the game with a .225 batting average.
Analysis: Contreras fell to 4 for 29 (.138) over his last 10 games.
May 4 4:57 PM PT5:57 PM MT6:57 PM CT7:57 PM ET19:57 ET23:57 GMT7:57 4:57 PM MST6:57 PM EST7:27 PM VEN3:57 UAE (+1)6:57 PM CT-Willson Contreras went 0 for 2 Thursday as the Chicago Cubs beat the Philadelphia Phillies 5-4. He ended the game with a .237 batting average.
May 4 10:41 PM PT11:41 PM MT12:41 AM CT1:41 AM ET1:41 ET5:41 GMT13:41 10:41 PM MST12:41 AM EST1:11 AM VEN9:41 UAE12:41 AM CT-Willson Contreras went 1 for 1 with a double and two RBIs Wednesday as the Chicago Cubs topped the Philadelphia Phillies 5-4. Contreras scored once. He ended the game with a .243 batting average.
May 3 10:55 PM PT11:55 PM MT12:55 AM CT1:55 AM ET1:55 ET5:55 GMT13:55 10:55 PM MST12:55 AM EST1:25 AM VEN9:55 UAE12:55 AM CT-Willson Contreras went 0 for 3 Tuesday as the Chicago Cubs topped the Philadelphia Phillies 8-3. Contreras scored once. He ended the game with a .233 batting average.
May 2 10:13 PM PT11:13 PM MT12:13 AM CT1:13 AM ET1:13 ET5:13 GMT13:13 10:13 PM MST12:13 AM EST12:43 AM VEN9:13 UAE12:13 AM CT-Willson Contreras went 1 for 4 Monday as the Chicago Cubs fell to the Philadelphia Phillies 10-2. He ended the game with a .243 batting average.
Analysis: With the outcome all but decided late, Cubs manager Joe Maddon shuffled his lineup, moving Contreras to third base - the first time he played a position other than catcher this season.
May 1 6:53 AM PT7:53 AM MT8:53 AM CT9:53 AM ET9:53 ET13:53 GMT21:53 6:53 AM MST8:53 AM EST9:23 AM VEN17:53 UAE8:53 AM CT-Willson Contreras went 0 for 3 Sunday as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Boston Red Sox 6-2. He ended the game with a .242 batting average.
Apr. 29 11:47 PM PT12:47 AM MT1:47 AM CT2:47 AM ET2:47 ET6:47 GMT14:47 11:47 PM MST1:47 AM EST2:17 AM VEN10:47 UAE1:47 AM CT-Willson Contreras went 1 for 4 Friday as the Chicago Cubs fell to the Boston Red Sox 5-4. He ended the game with a .254 batting average.
Apr. 22 2:08 PM PT3:08 PM MT4:08 PM CT5:08 PM ET17:08 ET21:08 GMT5:08 2:08 PM MST4:08 PM EST4:38 PM VEN1:08 UAE (+1)4:08 PM CT-Contreras went 3 for 4 with his first career grand slam in the Cubs' 12-8 win over the Reds on Saturday.
Analysis: Contreras also struck out again, giving him 18 in 51 at-bats this season.
Apr. 19 6:24 PM PT7:24 PM MT8:24 PM CT9:24 PM ET21:24 ET1:24 GMT9:24 6:24 PM MST8:24 PM EST8:54 PM VEN5:24 UAE (+1)8:24 PM CT-Contreras went 2 for 4 with a double and an RBI against Milwaukee on Wednesday.
Analysis: He went 1 for 10 in his previous five games.
Apr. 3 10:07 PM PT11:07 PM MT12:07 AM CT1:07 AM ET1:07 ET5:07 GMT13:07 10:07 PM MST12:07 AM EST12:37 AM VEN9:07 UAE12:07 AM CT-Contreras started strong Sunday with two hits - including a tying three-run homer in the ninth - in a 4-3 loss to the Cardinals.
Analysis: Contreras hit .282 with 12 home runs last season. He's a breakout candidate for sure this season.

Regular Season

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2016 ChC 76 252 33 71 14 1 12 35 26 67 2 2 .282 .357 .488
2017 ChC 65 205 23 51 14 0 7 34 16 60 1 1 .249 .310 .420
Career 141 457 56 122 28 1 19 69 42 127 3 3 .267 .336 .457

Postseason

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2016 ChC Total 17 39 4 10 2 0 1 5 4 10 0 0 .256 .326 .385
    LDS 4 6 1 4 0 0 0 2 1 1 0 0 .667 .714 .667
    LCS 6 14 3 4 0 0 1 2 0 5 0 0 .286 .286 .500
    WS 7 19 0 2 2 0 0 1 3 4 0 0 .105 .227 .211
Career 17 39 4 10 2 0 1 5 4 10 0 0 .256 .326 .385


Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2017 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.